Prémio BIAL de Medicina Clínica 2024: applications are open until August 31

Prémio BIAL de Medicina Clínica 2024: applications are open until August 31

Applications are now open for the 21st edition of the Prémio BIAL de Medicina Clínica. The deadline for applications is August 31.

Promoted by the BIAL Foundation, the Prémio BIAL de Medicina Clínica is worth 100 thousand euros and seeks to recognise an original intellectual work, on any freely chosen medical topic in clinical practice, with results of high quality and relevance. At least one of the authors must be a native physician of a Portuguese speaking country. 

The winning work will be published in the first exclusive printed and/or digital edition. In addition to the winning work, Honorable Mentions (a maximum of two) worth 10 thousand euros each may also be awarded. Works published in the form of journal articles, books or theses are not eligible.

Throughout its various editions, this award has followed the evolution and trends within the field of medicine, having recognised several works in the fields of civilisation diseases, genetics, molecular medicine, imaging, substitutive and regenerative therapies, and many more. In the last edition, which had its award ceremony in 2023, works on autism, brain tumours, and hypertension were honoured.

Since its establishment, the BIAL Award has considered 703 entries from 1823 researchers, doctors, and scientists from 21 countries. In 20 editions, it has recognised 108 works by 310 authors, with more than 326,000 copies of 43 award-winning works having been published and distributed free of charge to health professionals.

José Melo Cristino (Faculdade de Medicina – U. Lisboa) is the President of the Jury, whose members include Jaime Branco (Faculdade de Ciências Médicas | Nova Medical School - U. Nova de Lisboa), Miguel Castelo-Branco (Faculdade de Ciências da Saúde - U. Beira Interior), Henrique Cyrne Carvalho (Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas Abel Salazar - U. Porto), João Forjaz de Lacerda (Faculdade de Medicina - U. Lisboa), Helena Leitão (Faculdade de Medicina e Ciências Biomédicas - U. Algarve), José Miguel Pêgo (Escola de Medicina - U. Minho), Carlos Robalo Cordeiro (Faculdade de Medicina - U. Coimbra), and Amândio Rocha Sousa (Faculdade de Medicina - U. Porto).

More information about this edition, including regulations and application submission, is available here.